2010 Award Recipient – Dr. Sabrina B. Moore

Governor and Mrs. Richard W. Riley Award for Excellence in Dropout Prevention

The eighth annual Award was presented to Dr. Sabrina B. Moore, SC Department of Education, at a ceremony held on February 16, 2010.

Dr. Sabrina B. Moore is currently the Director of the Office of Regional Services at the South Carolina Department of Education, where she oversees the implementation of the Education and Economic Development Act (EEDA). In her current role, Dr. Moore has devoted particular attention to the dropout prevention component of the EEDA. Her vision and support for innovative data systems to identify students as high risk and the application and testing of research-based solutions to help these students have provided a huge step forward for South Carolina in addressing its dropout problem.

Dr. Moore has two decades of educational service to the state of South Carolina in various teaching and administrative roles at Denmark Technical College, Clemson University, W. L. Bonner College, and Tri-County Technical College. Her career assignments over the years have positively influenced the lives of hundreds of students as she administered the statewide 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) Program, supervised the management of the After-School Program/Homework Centers, directed the GEAR UP Program at Denmark Technical College, and served as the SC 21st CCLC liaison to the U.S. Department of Education. She is the author of Getting Them to Read and Retreating into Comfort Zones.


Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors